25 Murray Street, New York, NY 10007
Call: 212-374-1511

fb_icon in_icon tw_icon



As you may be aware from the news, the Trump administration’s Travel Ban 3.0 implemented on September 24, 2017, involved Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, and Yemen. The Travel Ban 3.0 had been partially blocked by two preliminary injunctions issued by the U.S. District Courts in Hawaii and Maryland, but those injunctions were lifted by the Supreme Court on December 4, 2017. The bars on North Korea and Venezuela were not included in either order, and have been continuously in effect.

Since December 4, 2017, the government has been able to fully enforce Travel Ban 3.0 on all 8 countries while The Trump administration appeals the District Court orders.

A new development is that a presidential proclamation of April 10, 2018, removed the nation of Chad, from the list of countries subject to Travel Ban 3.0, effective April 13, 2018, because  “Chad has made improvements and now sufficiently meets the baseline.”

President Trump’s announcement was based on the first of an ongoing series of reports issued on March 30, 2018, by the Secretary of the Department of Homeland Security.

The Secretary’s report set forth that Libya had made progress toward compliance but that lifting of the restriction for that country could not be recommended at this time.

The Supreme Court of the United States has agreed to review Travel Ban 3.0, and oral arguments before the Court were held on April 25, 2018.  A decision from the Court is anticipated to be issued in June 2018.

Until then, Travel Ban 3.0 will remain in effect for Iran, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela and Yemen.

Stay tuned.