25 Murray Street, New York, NY 10007
Call: 212-374-1511

fb_icon in_icon tw_icon


The U.S. Department of State opened the Immigrant Diversity Lottery program on October 3, 2017. It will end on November 7, 2017 at 12 noon Eastern Standard Time.

This lottery program makes 50,000 immigrant visas available to citizens of nations with low rates of immigration to the U.S.
President Donald Trump has indicated his intention to eliminate the Diversity Lottery. For this year though, the program remains intact.

The lottery registration and application process is conducted online, and the eligibility requirements are few.
There is no fee to register for the lottery. Random selection of qualified lottery applications will begin on May 1, 2018.

Eligible individuals must have:

• At least a high school education or its equivalent; or
• Two years of work experience within the past five years in an occupation that requires at least two years of training or experience to perform.

Individuals cannot apply if they were born in the following nations, because more than 50,000 natives from these countries have immigrated to the U.S. in the past five years.

• Bangladesh
• Brazil
• Canada
• China, mainland-born (those born in Hong Kong SAR, Macau SAR, and Taiwan are eligible)
• Colombia
• Dominican Republic
• El Salvador
• Haiti
• India
• Jamaica
• Mexico
• Nigeria
• Pakistan
• Peru
• Philippines
• South Korea
• United Kingdom (except Northern Ireland) and its dependent territories
• Vietnam

If you were not born in a qualifying country, you might still be eligible to register for the lottery, if:

• Your spouse was born in an eligible country.
• Neither of your parents was born or legally resident in the country of your birth at the time of your birth, in which case you could claim eligibility based upon one of your parents’ countries of birth.